Lennox's Real Estate Blog

sharing my passion for real estate

50 Years in the Family Business

Lennox 2013 PhotoI was just asked to do an interview with Real Trends on my upcoming (in 2013) 50 year anniversary with the company. I had a wonderful time reminiscing about my humble beginnings with my grandfather’s company and the bright future we have ahead. Below is an excerpt from the article.

“At 9 years old, J. Lennox Scott, chairman and CEO of John L. Scott Real Estate in Seattle, was painting signs for his father’s business—John L. Scott Real Estate. “My brother and I would set up the for-sale signs and paint the base and top color, then it would go off to get the stencil letters,” says Scott, the third generation leader who’s currently celebrating his 50th year in the family business. “The company is 81 years old,” he says. Scott’s grandfather founded the brokerage in 1931, and his father also ran the business until his death in 1977.

By age 13, Scott was working on a yard crew to overhaul corporate houses. “Every time we fixed up a house, it would end up selling quickly. I learned a lot of lessons early on,” says Scott…..”  READ MORE….

Written by Lennox

December 5, 2012 at 2:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

